7 Months later, time for a new adventure! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Aukje Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu 7 Months later, time for a new adventure! - Reisverslag uit Sydney, Australië van Aukje Smeets - WaarBenJij.nu

7 Months later, time for a new adventure!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Aukje

29 April 2014 | Australië, Sydney

Dear friends, family and everybody else who is reading this,

Here I am, 7 months later and I'm still in Australia. Who would have thought that? Because I haven't been writing any story so far, here the first one and probably the last one for a while!! ;)

Where shall I begin? Everybody knows a little bit what I have been doing but I will try to write a summary about my last 7 months, so that nobody can miss a thing! :P

10-10-2013 I left to Australia to start my big adventure. I didn't really had a plan, didn't had friends, but all of that changed already in my first week. After my introduction week in Sydney I went on a surfcamp for 1 week, what was really really cool. I still love surfing, but have to practise more and more to become a 'real surfer'. I actually went surfing today for the last time in Sydney :(. But I will come back, I think, ;) Actually I was thinking about travelling to Bali and improve my skills there. Has to be really awesome! :) But that is only thinking yet :P!

After surfcamp I went to Byron Bay, a really cool hippy place, where everything is about freedom and happiness. I stayed here one week and decided to travel further with Roos and Shanna. I couldn't and wouldn't asked for better travelmates! We flew up to Cairns to start our travels at the East Coast. At some places we stayed longer then the other places. I will give a short discription about what we did where;

Cairns: Great Barrier Reef <3 my first experience with this reef, sharks and nemo, it was Fantastic!Wonderful! Just Woow. Driving on the left side of the road, hmm, what shall I say, Australia is not as flat as Holland haha. 'Hellingproefje' means something different in here ;)!

After Cairns we went to Mission Beach to relax for a few days and travel down to Townsville. A lot of people didn't like this place, but we did! We had a really chill hostel, went to the turtle hospital and learned a lot more about the underwater world.

After Townsville we went to Magnetic Island for a few days. This is a place where you have to go if you like animals! I cuddled a koala, kissed a crock, hold a snake, feed a bird and wild rock walabies! I like! :D

Airlie Beach /Whitsundays <3<3<3: definately the best thing I have done during my time on the East Coast. We had a 3 days trip to the Whitsundays. We slept at the boat and only went of to see the beautifull white beaches and to snorkel. At night the dolphins came to the boat and gave us a nice show. This whole experience was awesome!

Agnes Water / Castaway: We went to Agnes Water to stay at Castaway. We had to stay on a Island where a plain brought us, what was pretty cool, because it was a stuntplain. We just had to figure out what to do and didn't had a shower, toilet or bed during our stay. Good to had this expierience but not again haha!

Fraser Island: Cooliewoolie! Just driving around in a 4wheel drive nothing else around except the cars, water, sand a lot of sand! (not strange while it's the biggest sand island in the world!) and dingo's. Also at Fraser we slept at a camping, no proper bed but we had a shower!! We knew by then that we couldn't have everything ;)

Noosa: Really good spot to surf, but that was unfortunatelly not why we came there. We wanted to go to a camping again! Yeeew! This was really the worst thing we had done during our trip but we met a lot of nice people and I saw a wild Python! Happy :)

Brisbane: Almost 3 months later, Christmas. We celebrated Christmas with a lot of friends who we had met during our travels. It's nice that the hostels organising brunches etc for all the backpackers that nobody has to be alone with these days. I definately had a really good time in Brissie!

Surfers paradise: the name actually says it already. It's a spot with beaches and high buildings and a lot of good looking girls and guys who like themself more then anybody else. ;)

And then After 3 months, Sydney! The place where it all started. I celebrated NYE here, what was definately the best NYE ever! This was also the time that Roos, Shanna and I split up and everybody started their next adventure. I applied during my travels for a Recruitment job in Sydney. And lucky me! They gave me the job. Since 4 months I'm helping other backpackers with finding a job. It's a really cool job for a really relax and cool company! For the last 2 months I'm also the Tourguide of Australian Backpackers. I'm showing people, who booked their first week with us, around in Sydney and do heaps of cool stuff with them. For example surfing ;)! I live during my stay in Sydney in a hostel where we have a staffroom. We all live together in one room. It almost makes me feel like I'm a student again! ;). But I'm glad that I met you Nina and Kieron! :) hihi

After 4 months I decided that it is time for a new chapter. I have booked a trip to NZ and Fiji. 5 May I will leave to NZ to travel for 5 weeks. After that I will go to Fiji for 1 week and fly then back to Melbourne, Australia. Yep I'm still not done in Australia who thought there maybe was a small chance that I will come home, I'm sorry! :P.

I'm not sure yet what I'm gonna do after Melbourne but you all will hear it as soon as I know it! Hopefully everybody is reassured now and knows that I'm doing well and are very happy! :D

Lots of love! X
Aukje

  • 29 April 2014 - 13:48

    Judith Smeets:

    En allemaal in een half jaar tijd. Dat is hier allemaal niet te beleven. Ik wens je nog een heel fijne reis toe, maar hoop je toch snel weer te zien oppe Ruiver! Groetjes mama

  • 30 April 2014 - 21:28

    Jos Smeets:

    Ja,ja, veel gezien en veel beleefd. Tussendoor gewerkt en beurs weer gevuld. Nu weer verder met de volgende uitdaging. Goede reis en veel plezier in NZ en FIJI.
    Horen wel wanneer we weer contact kunnen hebben.
    Groetjes Pap.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Aukje

Actief sinds 06 Sept. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 398
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5369

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Oktober 2013 - 10 Oktober 2014

Australië, Nieuw Zeeland en Fiji

Landen bezocht: